Week 1

We’re actually only 6 days in…

  • The house is very nice: four stories, nice spaces, small kitchen, large ceilings, and plenty of room for visitors.
  • Courbevoie is very nice: farmer’s market Wed and Sat with everything including piles of shrimp. On our way to church this morning, we passed the library, couple of schools, a little supermarket and a butcher shop. (The last two are everywhere).
  • Twenty min walk to La Defense, home of The Grande Arche, shopping malls, gateway to trains to Paris and beyond.

Victories:

  • No car necessary, although a bicycle would come in handy.
  • Eiffel Tower, Louvre, Disneyland Paris
  • Train tickets: we haven’t figured out all of the options, but have traveled everywhere we’ve wanted to. Also, haven’t got on the wrong train (yet).

Defeats:

  • &#%@?! AT&T – claim they need 5-7 days to unlock my iPhone. They could have told me that last week or the month prior…I thought I had the whole thing set — of course not.
  • I’ve got a high bar here, but don’t want to be immediately recognized as an American. This usually is born out in less than 1 sentence where the other party will volunteer to speak English. I don’t like that. I have stopped wearing my cell phone on my belt — no one does that here. Le pick-pocket? Also, Elizabeth tells me I need pointy shoes…
  • French bank account: the boss is on holiday, his surrogate won’t approve. Jeremy, our banker, is very apologetic. Haven’t really needed it anyway…
  • Can understand 1-10 easily, but can’t really go above that. 12? 30? I’ve no idea, but can ramp up pretty quickly.

This week’s goals:

  • Haircut. Could be interesting.
Categories: Tom's Travels | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Week 1

  1. Mary

    Oh this is so much fun to read all of your blogs…keep ’em coming! I can totally relate-remember I studied in Avignon when in college and really didn’t know alot of French when I got there. I am guessing you need skinny jeans to go with pointy shoes? When in Rome…

  2. Karen Hoffmeier

    Glad your little fashion expert is looking after you with the pointy shoes!!!! Is she going with you to get your haircut? Thanks for keeping us updated. You will all be pros by the time we get there.

  3. Megan

    I agree with Elizabeth on the shoe consult. This single component will practically serve as a Parisian disguise for you. 🙂

We love hearing from you! Give us a shout or a "like" if this post made you smile.

Blog at WordPress.com.

