Ceci, cela, et l’autre

My SiriusXM subscription finally ran out after we got back from Rome. I’ve been preparing for the eventuality, poking around French internet radio stations. Unless I’m in a meeting, I’m almost always listening to the radio at work. For now, I’ll be listening to SNCF radio. SNCF is the French train system, where I buy my train tickets to Caen, London, etc. It’s a radio station to keep you abreast of the trains. No commercials, good music, with (pretty fast) French thrown in. Tonight there was some kind of “grave, personal” trouble with the TGV (that’s all I could pick up). With a quick search I discovered that someone had jumped in front of the Rennes-Montpellier train. You can listen too! http://www.sncf.com/fr/ Hit the “SNCF La Radio” link upper right.

I’ve already got a favorite song: Tomber Dans Ses Yeux. It’s from a local musical 1789, Les Amants de la Bastille. Here it is: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u4b3E34Xy0Y

Liz and I went over her homework yesterday. Below is her math. I can’t remember the term from my school board days, but note that she’s learning three things at once: math, French, and cursive handwriting. I can’t believe that they are soaking this all in and not flinching. It’s hard and they aren’t even noticing. It’s amazing. The red check mark just means the teacher checked it; it’s all correct.

Categories: Tom's Travels | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Ceci, cela, et l’autre

  1. Colleen Hartman

    Beautiful and amazing! So tiny and precise! Nice to hear from you, Tom!

  2. Karen Hoffmeier

    It appears that everyone is adjusting very well. I love seeing the homework. Your kids are so blessed to have this opportunity. Might try the radio station later. Thanks for the blog!

  3. Karen Hoffmeier

    Just listened to the song….beautiful. I assume that it is a love story??

We love hearing from you! Give us a shout or a "like" if this post made you smile.

Blog at WordPress.com.

